

Michael J. Rybak, PharmD, MPH, PhD

Professor of Pharmacy Director, Anti-Infective Research Laboratory Department of Pharmacy Practice Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences/School of Medicine, Wayne State University *Optimizing Phage-Antibiotic Combination Therapy*

Michael J. Rybak, Pharm.D., M.P.H., PH.D., FCCP, FIDSA, FIDP is Professor of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Director, Anti-Infective Research Laboratory, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, Wayne State University. He is also adjunct Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, School of Medicine at Wayne State University and Adjunct Clinical Professor at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. He is affiliated with the Detroit Medical Center and is a member of their antimicrobial stewardship committee.

Dr. Rybak's research focus is antimicrobial pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics (PK/PD) and the assessment of infectious diseases health outcomes including their relationship to bacterial resistance.

Dr. Rybak is funded by the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and via several investigator-initiated grants from the State of Michigan public health department and from Pharmaceutical Industry. He has published more than 450 manuscripts and authored more than 20 book chapters on antimicrobial PK/PD, resistance and antimicrobial stewardship. He is the co-editor-in-chief of the journal Infectious Diseases and Therapy, Associate Editor for Clinical Infectious Diseases, Scientific editor for Infectious Diseases for the journal Pharmacotherapy and editorial board member for the journal Antibiotics and for Contagion. Dr. Rybak is the recipient of a number of scholarship awards including the ACCP and ASHP awards for sustained contributions to the literature, the ACCP Therapeutics Frontiers Lecture award and the ACCP Infectious Diseases Practice Network Distinguished Investigator award. He was recently inducted into the Academy of Scholars at Wayne State University for recognition of outstanding excellence in scholarship.